The Extras

Quoted from a Yelp Review about A. Bauer Porsche.

“These guys are great.

I’ve been coming here since a friend who had a 944 recommended them (I own an ’87 944 Turbo, my Dad’s old car).

I am not what I would call an ideal customer for Bauer. It didn’t help that (a) my last car was a rock-solid ’88 Acura Integra which gave me hardly any grief fot the 14 years I owned it; that (b) this particular model has a history of specific recurring headaches that, had I bothered to look through the phone-book sized receipt folder my Dad kept for every work order / receipt, I would have been forewarned of; and (c) it had been garaged and un-driven for years when I took it over from my Mom – which mean issues from sitting too long. This car was gonna be an ‘adjustment’. But it didn’t really matter — once you get used to a car like this, the hooks are in, and you are, in plain language, well-and-truly fucked. Because you will never want anything else.

Add to that the sentimental value of it being my father’s favorite thing in the world after my Mom, and I was dedicated. It took me a long time to figure out a strategy to make my car’s up-keep manageable. The single most important piece of that strategy was Chris and Brian and their team – they have helped me through a lot of problems over the last 9 years, and have been an encyclopedic source of information about my car, and not just about the encyclopedia’s worth of things that can – scratch that, WILL – go wrong with a 944 Turbo.

They have also worked with me in a number of ways, and even given me advice on things I can safely do on my own. They have kept my car and all it represents to me and my family – alive and healthy. I can’t thank them enough for that. They have also shown a lot of patience with a complete Porsche Newb – even after almost a decade driving this car, knowledge comes slow. They’re pretty gentle.

Case in point: four coolant leaks in one year. Not cheap to fix. I was pissed. Brian took care of the new leak personally, replacing two crapped-out hoses (the engine runs hot and they crack). He did it without adding any labor.

Then he did something that helped me a lot: he showed me a schematic for a 944. It was complicated, with a fair number of little hoses. They looked like little pieces of macaroni.

“OK, now this is the coolant system for the Turbo.” He flipped to a new illustration which looked like someone had spilled a 2-pound bag of Macaroni on the page. Two separate water pumps. A bunch of other stuff, a lot more than was on the first page.

“Oh,” I said. “I get it.”

So thanks guys. Thanks for helping me keep my dream going.”

3 responses to “The Extras

  1. I not to mention my pals came checking out the good tips located on your website then before long I had an awful suspicion I had not thanked the site owner for them. All of the guys were definitely for this reason very interested to study them and already have in actuality been loving these things. Thank you for being simply accommodating and for opting for these kinds of important subject areas most people are really desirous to learn about. Our own honest apologies for not saying thanks to earlier.

Leave a Reply

